Curry Athletics Hosts Virtual End-of-Year Awards Show (Award Winners Announced)

Curry Athletics Hosts Virtual End-of-Year Awards Show (Award Winners Announced)

MILTON, Mass. – Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the Curry College Athletic Department will be holding their Annual Athletic Awards event a little differently this year. Instead of an in-person event as in years past, on Thursday, May 21 the department will be holding a virtual end-of-year awards show, beginning at 6:30 p.m. The program will begin with a video celebrating all of the nominees and award winners, which will be available on all of the Curry Athletics social media accounts (Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube) and will include six categories. The nominees for each award are listed below:


Colonel Pride Award – Supporter of Curry Athletics

Nominees: Jeannette Buntin (Staff), Rachel King (Staff), Jennifer Maitino (Staff), Dr. Debra Petrizzo (Faculty), Maria Sancinito (Alumna)

Winner: Maria Sancinito (Alumna)


Colonel Pride Award – Student-Athlete

Nominees: Kieran Carroll (Men's Basketball), Caroline Johnson (Softball), Justin Ketola (Men's Ice Hockey), Courtney Lima (Women's Soccer, Women's Lacrosse), Shea Mathews (Women's Volleyball), Nate Medina (Football), Kayla Merritt (Women's Lacrosse), Jake Stebbins (Men's Lacrosse))

Winners: Caroline Johnson (Softball), Shea Mathews (Women's Volleyball


Male Scholar Athlete of the Year

Nominees: Spencer Feng (Men's Basketball), Justin Ketola (Men's Ice Hockey), Claudio Orsini (Men's Soccer), Brian Patterson (Football), Jordan Williamson (Men's Ice Hockey)

Winner: Jordan Williamson (Men's Ice Hockey)


Female Scholar Athlete of the Year

Nominees: Carrigan Costello (Softball), Megan Ladner (Women's Soccer), Courtney Lima (Women's Soccer, Women's Lacrosse), Shea Mathews (Women's Volleyball), Tayla Randall (Women's Soccer)

Winner: Courtney Lima (Women's Soccer, Women's Lacrosse) 


Male Athlete of the Year

Nominees: Hunter Atwood (Football), Nick Juvelier (Football), Jared Thorpe-Johnson (Men's Basketball), Jordan Williamson (Men's Ice Hockey)

Winner: Hunter Atwood (Football)


Female Athlete of the Year

Nominees: Lex Bell (Women's Volleyball), Michaela Colleran (Softball), Abby Dubel (Women's Lacrosse)

Winner: Abby Dubel (Women's Lacrosse)


Following the video release, at 7:30 p.m., the department will also put on a LIVE after-show with Athletic Director Vinnie Eruzione and the award winners' coaches to discuss the awards and recipients. The after-show will be simulcast on Facebook (@CurryAthletics), Twitter (@CurryColonels), and YouTube (Curry Athletics). Please join us and help us honor and congratulate our incredible student-athletes! You can also watch live at the link below:


Check out the full video presentation on YouTube and Facebook!


For the latest on Curry Athletics, follow the Colonels via social media on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and YouTube.